Photos from the field (2012-2013)

I rarely head out into the wetlands without my camera. Having a stockpile of photos from my various study sites always comes in handy, not only for conference and workshop presentations or lectures but also to assist in interpreting some of my mosquito data. Shifts in the extent of tidal flooding of coastal saltmarsh or growth of invasive aquatic macrophytes across constructed wetlands can be captured pretty easily with a quick shot.

While I hope to upgrade my current camera (Canon PowerShot S5iS) to a digital SLR someday, having an iPhone (and being an avid user of Instagram) has opened up a whole new range of possibilities. The convenience of carrying around a reasonable quality camera has been great. Certainly much easier than carrying my other camera bag when I’ve got mosquito traps and other equipment to lug around.

I regularly post photos from the field to my “Wetland Field Guide” tumblr but I thought I’d put together a bunch of my favourite photos here from the recently completed “mosquito season”. This collection is from those posted to Instagram during the season. The vast majority of my field work is conducted between November and April each year. While it isn’t unusual to be out collecting data in early Spring, or even into May occasionally, it looks like I can pack away the gumboots for this season.

I hope you enjoy these shots.

IMG_7528

Hexham Swamp (Newcastle) IMG_7511

Kooragang Island (Newcastle)

Image

Newington Nature Reserve (Sydney Olympic Park)

Image

Badu Mangroves (Sydney Olympic Park)

Image

Narrawang Wetlands (Sydney Olympic Park)

Image

Jerrabomberra Wetlands (ACT)

Image

Gungahlin Wetlands (ACT)

Image

Badu Saltmarsh (Sydney Olympic Park)

Image

Kooragang Island (Newcastle)

Image

Ironbark Creek, Hexham Swamp (Newcastle)

Image

Ironbark Creek, Hexham Swamp (Newcastle)

Image

Saltmarsh, Newington Nature Reserve (Sydney Olympic Park)

Image

Saltmarsh, Newington Nature Reserve (Sydney Olympic Park)

