Conversations in 2012

It was one of my great pleasures in 2012 to be asked to write some articles for the wonderful website The Conversation. The Conversation is an independent source of analysis, commentary and news from the university and research sector — written by acknowledged experts and delivered directly to the public.

The writing style at The Conversation is vastly different to writing for peer-reviewed scientific journals and I strongly feel as though my writing has greatly improved for the experience. As well as a steady increase in confidence writing in a “The Conversation” style, putting together a few articles on the year has also helped improve the way I write other material (e.g. fact sheets, articles for trade bulletins, newsletters etc). I’ve even found it has helped in the way I put together lectures and conference presentations too.

Here are the pieces I wrote for The Conversation in 2012:

Time to regulate the release of GM mosquitoes – and here’s how (February 2012)

Taking the ouch and itch out of insect bites (April 2012)

Will bugs bite at the London Olympics? (July 2012)

Bed bugs at the London Olympics [Video presentation in conjunctions with SBS World News] (July 2012)

Explainer: West Nile virus outbreak in the United States (August 2012)

Using urban planning to reduce mosquito-borne disease (November 2012)

Monday’s medical myth: mosquitoes prefer sweet blood (December 2012)

My articles have had over 14,000 readers and I hope I’ve been able to pass on some useful public health advice on avoiding biting arthropods and the pathogens they may (potentially) transmit!

I must also pass on my many thanks for the assistance and encouragement provided by the two editors responsible for wrangling my writing, Reema Rattan and Fronscesca Jackson-Webb.